Ryan-Harris Graduate Student Award

The ACD sponsors two awards for Graduate Students. The Douglas E. Ryan Award and The Walter E. Harris Award are presented in alternate years. The finances to maintain these two Graduate Student Awards were raised by friends and colleagues of Drs. Harris and Ryan as well as from a donation by Dr. Harris.

The 2019 winner of the Ryan-Harris Graduate Student Award is:

Kevin Kovalchik

University of British Columbia, Supervisor: David Chen

     Terms of Reference (pdf) | List of Previous Winners (pdf)

Travel Award (Undergraduate and Graduate)

Travel Awards are presented yearly to honour outstanding senior undergraduate students and graduate students in analytical chemistry.  The number of awards given each year and their individual value are to be determined by ACD executive dependent on the annual budget.

The 2019 Winner of the ACD Undergraduate Travel Award in Honor of Dr. Nick Toltl is:

Benjamin Schmidt,
University of Alberta - Augustana, Supervisor: James Kariuki

     Terms of Reference (pdf) | List of Previous Winners (pdf)

The ACD Graduate Travel Award (2005 - 2012)

    Award currently in moratorium.  List of Previous Winners (pdf)

Graduate and Undergraduate Poster Presentation Award

This award is open to any graduate and undergraduate students presenting their research in the poster symposium sponsored by the ACD during the annual CSC meeting.

The 2018 winners of the ACD Graduate Poster Presentation Awards are:

1st place: David Simon, Queen’s University, (R. Oleschuk supervisor)
2nd place: Isaac Omari, University of Victoria, (S. McIndoe supervisor)
 Honourable Mention: Rio Wilkie, University of Toronto, (J. Abbatt supervisor)

   List of Previous Winners (pdf)

The 2018 winners of the ACD Undergraduate Poster Presentation Awards are:

1st place: Tyson Bodor, Thompson Rivers University, (K. Donkor supervisor)
2nd place: Benjamin Schmidt, University of Alberta Augustana, (J. Kariuki supervisor)

Student Awards

Analytical Chemistry

Chemical Institute of Canada

Regional Undergraduate Student Conference Awards

Ricardo Aroca Award

Sponsored by the University of Windsor and presented to a scientist residing in Canada who has made a distinguished contribution to the field of analytical chemistry while working in Canada.

The 2019 winner of the CSC’s Ricardo Aroca Award is:

John Headley
Environment Canada

W.A.E. McBryde Medal

Presented by Sciex to a young scientist working in Canada who has made a significant achievement in pure or applied analytical chemistry.

The 2019 winner of the CSC’s W.A.E. McBryde Medal is:

Jean-François Masson
Université de Montréal

Fred Beamish Award

Presented by Thermo Fisher Scientific to an individual who demonstrates innovation in research in the field of analytical chemistry, where the research is anticipated to have significant potential for practical applications.

The 2019 winner of the CSC’s Fred Beamish Award is:

Jennifer I-Ling Chen
York University


The 46th Annual Southern Ontario Undergraduate Student Chemistry Conference

The 2018 winners of the Analytical Chemistry Presentation Awards are:

1st place: Baian Almusned (Western University) – The Role of Molybdenum in the Passivity of Ni-Cr-Mo Alloys in Chloride Containing Environments

2nd place: Alexandra Deckert (UOIT) – Selective Molecular Receptor for the Detection and Removal of Mercury Ions from Solutions

3rd place: Abhilash Kavuru (York) – Understanding Conformational Dynamics of Substrate Binding to GST M2-2 Using TRESI-HDX

WCUCC 2018

The 32nd Annual Western Canadian Undergraduate Chemistry Conference

The 2018 winner of the Analytical Chemistry Presentation Awards is:

1st place Poster presentation: Gabriel Cohen, Shaftesbury, "The Characteristics of Ph4Aza-BODIPY and Ph4AZA-BODIPY Catechol”.

ChemCon 2018

Science Atlantic - CIC Chemistry Student Conference (ChemCon)

The 2018 winners of the Analytical Chemistry Presentation Awards are:

Best overall oral presentation -
Najwan Albarghouthi

Second best overall oral presentation -
Melanie Davidson

Best graduate poster -
Katherine Miller

Best undergraduate poster -
Kathleen Allen

Second best undergraduate poster -
Philip Jakubec

CSC Awards